



INDIA: POLITICAL SYSTEM AND VOTING GUIDELINE

DR. DHAWALE J. S.

DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

ARTS & SCIENCE COLLEGE, SHIVAJINAGAR, GADHI

TABLE OF CONTENTS

- Indian Political System (Loksabha and Rajyasabha)
- Political System at State leval
- How many times do I vote?
- First Time Voters
- Voted before, But ...
- Getting Voters ID Card (Not mandatory)
- Don't want to vote for ANYONE?
- State wise website links of Election commissions

INDIAN POLITICAL SYSTEM PARLIAMENT OF INDIA

- Maximum 550 Members + 2 to represent Anglo- Indian Community
- These members are representative of their constituency and are chosen directly by Indian Residents in General Election
- Whichever party gets majority members among those 550, forms Government and chooses the Prime Minister
- Next General Election in 2014 will be India's 16th Loksabha Election.
- Elections every 5 years to elect all members
- Leader is called Speaker' and is elected by the members

Rajya Sabha

(Council of States / Upper House)

It is a constant council and Members

sit for 6 years, with one third

Retiring every two years

Maximum 250 members out of which 12 are chosen by the President from the field of art, music etc.

The rest of the members are elected from Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) of respective states (MLAs)

Members have same perks as Loksabha members. Both are called MP (Member of Parliament)

The Vice –president of India is Chairman of Rajabhat

POLITICAL SYSTEM AT STATE LEVEL STATE GOVERNMENT

Vidhan Sabha

(Legistative Assembly/Lower House)

- 60-500 Members, called MLA (Member of Legislative Assembly)
- Members are directly elections.
- Whichever political party has majority votes, forms the state government and chooses the chief Minister
- Election every 5 years.
- Head is called 'Speaker' and is usually of the stronger political party

Only in 6 bicameral states – Maharashtra, AP, Bihar, J&K,
 Karnataka, Up

Vidhan Parishad

(Legislative Council / Upper House)

- Less than one third of Vidhan Sabha Members
- by MLAs, 1/12th from teaching, 1/12th from graduates etc.
- Members are called MLC (Member of Legislative Council)
- Members sit for 6 years, with one third retiring every two year
- Head is called Chairman' and is elected from the members

HOW MANY TIMES DO I VOTE

You elect the word representative & thus corporator of your town/city in nagar palika election

You elect the MLA of your constituency and thus the chief Minister of your state in State Assembly
 Election

 You elect the MP of your constituency and thus the prime Minister of your Country in General Election (2014)

FIRST TIME VOTERS

- All you need is to be above 18 years of age and your name in the Electoral Roll of your constituency.
- Voting ID (EPIC) is NOT NECESSARY FOR VOTING!!
- If you are a first time voter:
 - Know your constituency here (Its your hometown or current place of residence for more than 6 months)
 - Fill up form 6 on ECI website or on jaagore.com or with Electoral Registration Office (ERO) at your constituency
 - Follow up religiously till your name appears on the electoral roll vote for your next PM

VOTED BEFORE, BUT

- If you have voted before, but not sure if your can vote now.
 - Check if your name is included in the Electoral Roll here.
 - If not, fill form 6
- If you have voted before, but want to change your details like name, age, DOB etc.
 - Fill form 8 and send it to your ERO
- If you are living in different country, but will be present in India on the day of voting (useless!!)
 - Fill form 6A and send it by post to the ERO of the constituency which includes the address in your passport

VOTED BEFORE, BUT ...

- If you have voted before, now live in different location (constituency) since more than 6 months
 - Go to your hometown where your name appears in the electoral roll and vote there

OR

- Fill form 7 and send it to your previous location ERO office by post or personally.
- Fill form 6 and submit at your current location ERO
- If you have voted before, but now live at different location in the same constituency
 - Fill form 8A and send it to your ERO

GETTING VOTERS ID CARD (NOT MANDATORY)

- You do not need Voters ID card to vote. However, if you want to have one, you can do this at the time of submitting form 6 or after your name appears in the list at ERO
- At specific time periods, Election Commission of India (ECI) organizes drives to issue voter ID cards to all registered voters through Designated Photographic Locations (DPL) During these drives, the ECI advertises in all major newspapers of the state. Citizens whose names appear on the voter's list are also given information notices by the EROs of each area. The notices issued contain useful information such as the name and age of the person, the house number, the constituency number, and the polling booth or part number. It also mentions the date on which the voter IDs will be issued for a particular polling booth / part and address of DPL. Once the voter receives the notice, he/she must visit the DPL which is generally a school or government office in the locality. Each DPL will usually have two systems equipped with digital cameras. The voter ID card is issued in 10 to 15 minutes

DON'T WANT TO VOTE FOR ANYONE?

- Earlier it was useless Rule 49-0 where invalid vote had no value
- Now, Indians have RIGHT TO REJECT (Negative Voting)
- There will an option of NOTA (None of The Above) on the EVM machine or ballot paper
- If the voter is not satisfied with any of the candidates contesting, they can select NOTA option.
- When a large number or voters will press NOTA button, it will force political parties to choose better condidates